Your session is about to expire in: . Go to cart. Your session has expired! Login.
« Go back to Press Releases

ADFF Unveils Winners of 2011 Black Pearl, FIPRESCI and NETPAC Awards

Narrative Feature Competition
This competition centers on exciting vision and original storytelling in narrative feature films by international filmmakers.

In 2011, the Narrative Feature Competition presented a selection of 16 films from 11 countries. The jury awarded the following Black Pearl Awards:

Best Narrative Film ($100,000)

Chicken With Plums (Poulet Aux Prunes)
, by Marjane Satrapi (France/Germany/Belgium)

Special Jury Award ($50,000)

A Separation (Jodaeiye Nader az Simin)
, by Asghar Farhadi (Iran)

Best Director from the Arab World ($50,000)

Ismaël Ferroukhi
for Free Men (Les Hommes Libres) (France/Morocco)

Best Producer from the Arab World ($25,000)

Ziad Hamzeh and Ridha Behi,
for Always Brando (Dima Brando), by Ridha Behi (Tunisia)

Best Actor ($20,000)

Woody Harrelson
in Rampart, by Oren Moverman (USA)

Best Actress ($20,000)

Jayashree Basavaraj
in Lucky, by Avie Luthra (South Africa)

The Jury

President: Nabil Maleh, Director/Writer/Producer, Syria

Marianne Denicourt, Actress, France

Lucinda Englehart, Producer, UK

Laila Eloui, Actress, Egypt

George Sluizer, Director, Netherlands

New Horizons Competition

Held for the second time this year, this awards section focuses on the work of first- and second-time directors from around the world, featuring fresh styles and challenging ideas in narrative films.

In 2011, 12 films from 11 countries competed in the New Horizons Competition. The jury awarded the following Black Pearl Awards:

Best Film ($100,000)

Stories Only Exist When Remembered (Hist
órias Que Só Existem Quando Lembradas)

by Julia Murat

Special Jury Award ($50,000)

Alms for a Blind Horse (Anhey Ghohrey Sa Daan)

by Gurvinder Singh

Best Director from the Arab World ($50,000)

Amr Salama for Asma'a

Best Producer from the Arab World ($25,000)

Sooney Kadouh for This Narrow Place, by Kadouh

Best Actor ($20,000)

Maged El Kedwani
in Asma'a, by Amr Salama

Best Actress ($20,000)

Memona Mohamed
in Tears of Sand (Lagrimas de Arena), by Pedro Pérez Rosado


Sonia Guedes
in Stories Only Exist When Remembered (Histórias Que Só Existem Quando Lembradas), by Julia Murat

The Jury

PRESIDENT: Bahman Ghobadi, Director, Iran

Paul Baboudjian, Editor/Cinematographer/Producer, Lebanon/UAE

Marwan Hamed, Director, Egypt Annemarie Jacir, Director/Writer, Palestine

Aimee Mullins, Actress/Athlete/Model, USA 4

Documentary Feature Competition
In 2011, the Documentary Feature Competition comprised 12 films from 11 countries. The jury awarded the following Black Pearl Awards:

Best Documentary ($100,000)

Position Among the Stars (Stand Ven De Sterren)
, by Leonard Retel Helmrich

Special Jury Award ($50,000)
The Tiniest Place (El Lugar Más Pequeño), by Tatiana Huezo

Best New Director ($50,000)
Gemma Atwal
for Marathon Boy
(India/United Kingdom/USA)

Best Director from the Arab World ($50,000)
Safinez Bousbia
for El Gusto
(France/Algeria/Ireland/United Arab Emirates)

Best Producer from the Arab World ($25,000)
Mohamed Hefzy
for Tahrir 2011: The Good, the Bad & the Politician (Al Tahrir 2011: Al Tayib wa al Shariss wa al Siyassi) by Ayten Amin, Tamer Ezzat and Amr Salama

The Jury

PRESIDENT: Tahani Rached, Director/Writer, Egypt/Canada

Anwar Jamal, Director, India

Victor Kossakovsky, Director, Russia

Mahmoud Al Massad, Director/Writer/Cinematographer, Jordan

Mostafa Messnaoui, Writer/Film Critic, Morocco 6

Our World Competition

The first edition of the Our World Competition is presented in cooperation with Official Partner Masdar, Abu Dhabi's renewable energy hub. Our World celebrates films devoted to broadening public awareness of significant environmental issues.

In 2011, Our World presents ten films from seven countries. The jury awarded the following Black Pearl Award:

Best Film About Significant Environmental Issues ($15,000)

The Last Mountain,
by Bill Haney

The Jury

The Our World jury consists of graduate students from Abu Dhabi's Masdar Institute of Science and Technology (MIST).

Khasiaba Al Dalel, Student

Yu-Kuang Lin, Student

Mohamed Asaad Taher, Fellow

Dr. Amal Al Ghaferi, Assistant Professor of Materials Science and

Engineering/Advisor to the Jury

Abu Dhabi Film Festival Audience Choice Award 2011

The audience takes on the role of the jury in this competition, which is open to all films in the Showcase section, as well as the Opening Night film.
Abu Dhabi Film Festival Audience Choice Award ($50,000) goes to:

by Tim Greene
(South Africa)


The International Federation of Film Critics (FIPRESCI) was created in 1930 to promote and develop international film culture and safeguard the professional interests of film critics and journalists. With the protection of the freedom and ethics of the film press as its main objective, the federation's worldwide network of national committees also works to expand the idea of cinema as an art form as well as a tool of cultural education. The International Film Critics' Award was established to promote film art and support innovation in cinema.

The ADFF FIPRESCI jury focused on Arab films in the Narrative Feature Competition, Documentary Feature Competition and the New Horizons Competition.

The jury awarded the ADFF FIPRESCI Award 2011 to:

El Gusto, by Safinez Bousbia
(France/Algeria/Ireland/United Arab Emirates)


Gyôrgy Báron, Hungary

Adnan Madanat, Jordan

Andrea Martini, Italy

Mohamed El Rouby, Egypt 10

ADFF NETPAC Award 2011

NETPAC (Network for the Promotion of Asian Cinema) is the leading platform for the discovery and promotion of Asian cinema. To acknowledge and recognize the emergence of new cinematic talent among Asians, it brought the NETPAC Award to international film festivals. As more Asian films are selected for exhibition to world audiences, a yardstick for quality was necessary that matched the competitive spirit fuelling the creative urges of young Asian filmmakers. The NETPAC Award is now given at 28 international film festivals in 21 countries on five continents.

The jury awarded the ADFF NETPAC Award 2011 to:

Marathon Boy
, by Gemma Atwal
(India, United Kingdom, USA)


Gulnara Abikeyeva

Fatemeh Simin Motamed-Arya

Jocelyne Saab

Contact thePress Team