Your session is about to expire in: . Go to cart. Your session has expired! Login.
« Go back to Press Releases

Abu Dhabi Film Festival Announces 2014 Juries

Irrfan Khan, Christina Voros and Catherine Dussart to preside the feature competition juries

Abu Dhabi, UAE – October 20, 2014: Abu Dhabi Film Festival (ADFF 2014), powered by twofour54, today released the names of its jury members, who will select the award winners of this year’s ADFF competitions.

Abu Dhabi Film Festival director Ali Al Jabri said: “ADFF 2014 is proud to announce the names of the eminent jury members in each of its film competition categories. We cannot overstate the importance of the role played by ADFF juries down the years in raising the global standing and prestige of the festival. Once more, we are delighted to confirm renowned directors, actors and film experts from very different corners of the world as jury members for this year’s edition.”

ADFF 2014 presents films in the sections Narrative Feature Competition, New Horizons Competition, Documentary Feature Competition, Emirates Films Competition and Short Film Competition. The juries will also evaluate the merits of film entries for the Child Protection award, FIPRESCI and NETPAC awards.  

This year’s Narrative Features jury led by Mumbai-based actor Irrfan Khan will be rounded out by renowned Algerian novelist and academic Waciny Laredj, award-winning American writer-director Steven Shainberg, Australian film director Cate Shortland and the internationally acclaimed award-winning Palestinian actor Ali Suliman. 

Meanwhile, the panel evaluating the New Horizons section led by Paris-based film producer Catherine Dussart includes the Syrian actor Bassel Al Khayat, Moroccan filmmaker Leila Kilani, Geneva-based Indian filmmaker Anup Singh and influential film critic Charles Tesson, Artistic Director of Critics’ Week at the Cannes Film Festival.

Heading the documentary features jury is Brooklyn-based director and cinematographer Christina Voros. The other jury members in this category are Moroccan filmmaker Daoud Aoulad Syad, documentary filmmaker Elyes Baccar from Tunisia, US-Egyptian filmmaker and cinematographer Sherief Elkatsha and video artist and documentary filmmaker Amar Kanwar, from India.

The Emirates Film Competition (EFC) jury, scouting for the best talents among UAE and GCC filmmakers, will be headed by Moroccan screenwriter and director Farida Benlyazid. The judging body further includes Saudi actor Ibrahim Al Hassawi, Qatari cultural advisor, Fatima Al Remaihi, acting CEO of the Doha Film Institute and director of the Ajyal Youth Film Festival, Abdullah Saleh, playwright, stage actor based in the UAE and Kurdish-Norwegian filmmaker Hisham Zaman. 

ADFF 2014’s international Short Films Competition will be judged by a panel headed by Bahraini director and producer Bassam Al Thawadi. The jury will also figure director Gustavo Taretto from Argentina, programmer and director Maike Mia Höhne from the Berlin International Film Festival, director Hala Lotfy from Egypt and filmmaker Alexandre Charlet from France. 

Egyptian award-winning director Marwan Hamed (president), Faisal Al Shamari, director of the UAE Ministry of the Interior Child Protection Centre, UAE media expert Heyam Al Juma, popular actress Nelly Kareem from Egypt and Italian audio-visual expert and lecturer Alessandra Priante are named as the ADFF 2014 Child Protection Awards jury.

The Network for Promotion of Asian Cinema (NETPAC) jury consists of Vietnamese director Dang Nhat Minh (president), US film journalist E. Nina Rothe and Dale Hudson, professor of Film and New Media at New York University of Abu Dhabi. The International Federation of Film Critics (FIPRESCI) jury for ADFF 2014 will include eminent journalists Kirill Razlogov from Russia (president), Subrahmanyan Viswanath from India, Rich Cline from Great Britain, Kais Kasim from Iraq and Tarek Elshenawi from Egypt.

ADFF 2014 has put out a list of its eminent invitees from the world of cinema, who will be present at the festival.

For film images please click here

Contact thePress Team